FLASHMAN - "Flashman"

1. Godmakers
2. A Summer Day
3. Love Me A Little
4. Jack Of All Trades
5. Dawn
6. A Pauper's Tale
7. Tears
8. The Darby & Joan Suite


Released: 1977

All Songs written by Gerald Watkiss
except #5 and #6 written by Nick Walpole

String & Brass Arrangements: Rob Young
Photography: Geoff Howes
Design: Martin Cropper/Design Machine

Catalog Number: VSD 79403 (Vanguard)

1977 - Pye Records

"FLASHMAN, the extraordinary British group, consists of three outstanding musicians.

Gerald Watkiss started life as a prodigy.  He composed a full fledged symphony before he was fourteen.  When he was sixteen he formed his first band, Elegy, a group that inluded Nick Walpole as a founder member.  Contact with other young musicians was invaluable to Gerald, since his early inclination and training had been almost exclusively classical.  As a result, he had experienced very few pop influences.  New friendships re-established his association with contemporary sound.

Nick Walpole plays timpani and percussion.  He is also a self taught drummer.  He worked a number of bands, and met Gerald Watkiss at school.  "It was an unusual friendship," confessed Nick, "because he introduced me to a great deal of classical music.  In turn, I brought him into contact with a lot of pop stuff."  They began to write a rock opera, but not long afterward Gerald entered a college of music and drama.  Nick also got into the same college as a part-time student.

Chris Hudman, as a kid studied violin and cello, but now his taste runs much more to acoustic and bass guitar.  He toured the club circuit as part of a folk duo called Middlearth, but in 1974 he attended a rehearsal at which Gerald and Nick were present.  As a result he was recruited to the line-up as a bass guitarist."